Home / Member Services / Legislative / Legislative News / City-County Cooperation Award Deadline is April 27

City-County Cooperation Award Deadline is April 27

Cities and counties that have worked together to save taxpayer money, implement innovative solutions to local challenges or improve government services to residents can collaborate again — this time on the 2012 City-County Cooperation Award application, due April 27.

The City-County Cooperation Award is co-sponsored by the Texas Association of Counties and the Texas Municipal League. The award was created in 2006 to recognize the importance of interlocal cooperation when it comes to meeting the demands placed on local governments. To be eligible for the 2012 award, programs or projects must have been brought to conclusion or shown significant results between Nov. 1, 2010 and April 1, 2012.

Previous City-County Cooperation Award winners have included:

  • Burleson County and the City of Somerville, which worked together to create a health resource center and other services that increased residents’ access to affordable and effective health care;
  • Parker County and the City of Weatherford, which collaborated to create a special crimes unit and a joint animal shelter;
  • Titus County and the City of Mount Pleasant, honored for their “Keep Titus County Moving” project, which used pass-through financing to fund a traffic loop around Mount Pleasant;
  • Williamson County and the cities of Cedar Park, Hutto, Leander and Round Rock, for their cooperation in building the Williamson County Regional Animal Shelter;
  • Bexar County and the City of San Antonio, which created a consolidated preventative health care service system;
  • Wise County and the cities of Bridgeport and Decatur, which worked together to bring a branch campus of Weatherford College to the area;
  • Dallas County and the City of Irvine, honored for their partnership in helping to develop the Irving Health Center;
  • Angelina County and the City of Lufkin, which combined resources to create the Civic and Disaster Infrastructure of Lufkin/Angelina County (CADILAC) to house evacuees during and after a disaster; and
  • El Paso County and the City of El Paso for their successful joint information technology consolidation program.

There is no application form for the program. Instead, entities involved in the program must create one joint document that describes the program in 1,200 words or less, detailing why the project was needed, how the entities worked together to accomplish project goals, who benefited from the project, the level of cooperation between the city and the county, time and money saved as a result of the project, time and money spent on the project, community improvements resulting from the project, and the project’s future impact on the community.

The document should also include the names and populations of the involved cities and county, the project’s title, the signature and printed name of the chief elected or appointed official of the city, the signature and printed name of the county judge, and a contact person’s name, title, phone number and email address.

Five copies of the nomination document should be mailed to:

TML City-County Cooperation Award Program
1821 Rutherford Lane, Suite 400
Austin, Texas 78754-5128

More information about the program can be found at the City-County Cooperation Award website.